Did You Know?

Rev Dr Sandra K. JamesWhat are liturgical colors? Liturgical colors within Christian liturgy signify different seasons and times of year. Each season has its own mood, meaning and type of prayer. Each color has its own meaning and feeling and can be seen worn or hung throughout the church during specific times of year. The primary colors in the liturgical calendar are red, white, gold, violet/blue, green, and black. The prominent color will always be center when displayed.

What do the colors signify? Each color in the Liturgical Calendar signifies a different mood and season.

  1. Green: Ordinary Time”: Green is the color of Ordinary Time.Ordinary Time is any time of year between Easter and Advent and between Christmas and Lent. Green symbolizes life, hope, and anticipation.
  2. Red: Red is typically worn during Palm Sunday, and Pentecost. This color signifies the Holy Spirit, Gods Love, blood, fire.
  3. White/Gold: White and/or gold are worn during Christmas and Easter. These colors signify the birth and resurrection of Christ. White is worn during Holy Communion and baptism.
  4. White symbolizes purity, light, glory, and joy.
  5. Violet/Purple/Blue: Purple/Blue is the color worn during Advent and Lent. It symbolizes penance, sacrifice, and preparation.
  6. Pink/Rose: Pink or rosepink symbolize the joy that Jesus brought to the world at Christmas. The color’s brightness can also represent that Advent is halfway over and that celebrations are near. The Latin word Gaudete means “rejoice”, and this Sunday marks a shift in the liturgical season from preparation and penance to joyful anticipation of Jesus’ birth.
  7. Black: Black is the standard color for the clergys everyday clothing when in clergy attire but is also sometimes used at funerals and Good Friday. It symbolizes death and mourning.

    Happy Father’s Day and Happy Juneteenth!

    Peace and Blessings,

    Rev. Dr. Sandra K. James

    Acting Pastor (“AP”)


Leave a Comment

17 + nineteen =